Baptista Pereira, 1954 Billy Butlin race winner.

Baptista Pereira 1954 Billy Butlin race winner.

Billy Butlin Race 1954. Baptista Pereira of Portugal winner of the 1954 race, being congratulated by Sam Rockett, the race Supervisor.

Baptista Pereira won the Billy Butlin 1954 Cross Channel Swimming Race, winning in a time of 12hrs 26secs.

In the 1959 Butlin swim he was placed 3rd in a time of 13hrs 12mins. He also entered the 1955, 1956 and 1957 swims but was unable to start.

He set a new record for the Strait of Gibraltar in 5hrs 4mins in 1956 and he again set a new record of 4hrs 34mins.

The Sam Rockett Collection.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.